LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

For more information, visit the Department of Licensing website: www.dol.wa.gov.

Guest speakers in driver education at our Ellensburg driving school Drivers ed in Moses Lake, Washington

Central Washington Driving School Policies

Please read our FAQ section and read through the course policies before submitting the registration form.  The course policies require you to check the box right before submitting your registration. 

INTERMEDIATE LICENSE LAWS FOR

TEEN DRIVERS

Be fore applying for a license, a parent or guardian will need to certify that the applicant have completed 50 hours of supervised driving in which 10 were at night.

If you're under 18, you'll be issued an intermediate driver license and must follow these laws:

  • Driving with Passengers
    • First 6 months: No passengers under 20 years old, except for immediate family members (spouse, child, stepchild, or siblings, both by birth and marriage).
    • Next 6 months: No more than 3 passengers under 20 years old who aren't members of your immediate family.
  • Nighttime driving
    For the first 12 months, you can't drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless you're with a licensed driver 25 years or older. The only exceptions are driving for agricultural purposes and transporting farm products or supplies under the direction of a farmer as described in RCW 46.20.070.
  • No cell phones
    You aren't permitted to use wireless devices while driving, even with a hands-free device. This includes talking on cell phones and sending or receiving text messages. You may only use a wireless device to report an emergency.

The Intermediate license becomes a basic driver license at the age of 18.